Advisory Board

In addition to the International Commission, the Advisory Board also works to ensure the quality of the Elite Network of Bavaria’s funding lines and is re­spon­si­ble for the future development of their underlying structure. By making recommendations to the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts, the Board ensures the high quality of the Max Weber Program and the Marianne-Plehn-Program in the Elite Network of Bavaria.

The role of the Advisory Board

The Advisory Board provides the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts with advice on the configuration of the scholar­ship program operated by the Max Weber Program as well as the Marianne-Plehn-Program offered under the umbrella of the Elite Network of Bavaria.

The Max Weber Program supports gifted stu­dents with a Semester Allowance as well as a diverse, interdisciplinary events and support program. The Marianne-Plehn-Program aims at outstanding doctoral stu­dents in Bavaria. The State of Bavaria has transferred the im­ple­men­ta­tion of both pro­grams to the German National Academic Foundation.

Board members: wide-ranging expertise


Prof. Peter Gritzmann
(Chair since 2023)
Chair of Applied Geometry and Discrete Mathematics, Technical University of Munich

Board members

OStDin Silvia Duschka
(Member since 2023)
Headmaster at Maria-Theresa-Gymnasium München
Prof. Gerhard Fischerauer
(Member since 2023)
Lehrstuhl für Mess- und Regeltechnik, University of Bayreuth
Ltd. OStD Dr Christoph Henzler
(Member since 2020)
Ministerialbeauftragter für die Gymnasien in Schwaben
Prof. Stefanie Kürten
(Member since 2020)
Institute of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Bernd Mühlfriedel
(Member since 2020)
Faculty of Business Administration, University of Applied Sciences Landshut
Prof. Judith Volmer
(Member since 2023)
Institute of Psychology, University of Bamberg
Prof. Susanne Warning
(Member since 2023)
Chair of Global Business and Human Resource Management, University of Augsburg

Former members


Prof. Helmut Altner
(Chair until 2012)
Former President of the German Academic Scholarship Foundation
Former Rector of the Universität Regensburg
Prof. Wolfgang Frühwald
(Chair until 2009)
Former President of the German Research Foundation
Former President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Prof. Phillip Hellwege
(Chair until 2022)
Chair of Civil Law, Business Law and Legal History, University of Augsburg
Prof. Oliver Reiser
(Chair until 2019)
Institute of Organic Chemistry, Universität Regensburg
Prof. Helmut Ruppert
(Chair until 2016)
Former President of the University of Bayreuth

Board members

Prof. Ingrid Bennewitz
(Member until 2019)
Chair of Medieval German Philology, University of Bamberg
Dr Christiane Gaehtgens
(Member until 2009)
Former Secretary General of the German Rectors
Prof. Alexander L. Gerbes
(Member until 2016)
Deputy Director of the Medical Clinic II at the Klinikum der Universität München
OStDin Elisabeth Götz
(Member until 2022)
Headmaster at Marktgräfin-Wilhelmine-Gymnasium, Bayreuth
Prof. Bernd Grottel
(Member until 2019)
KPMG Bayerische Treuhandgesellschaft
Chair of the University Council, University of Passau
Prof. Karl-Dieter Grüske
(Member until 2009)
Rector of the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Kirsten Jung
(Member until 2022)
Chair of Microbiology, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Ltd. OStD Peter Kempf
(Member until 2019)
Former Ministerialbeauftragter für die Gymnasien in Schwaben
Hubert Lepperdinger
(Member until 2012)
Former Ministerialbeauftragter für die Gymnasien in Schwaben
Barbara Loos
(Member until 2009)
Former Chair of the Bundesvereinigung der Oberstudiendirektorinnen und Oberstudiendirektoren Deutschlands
Prof. Ursula Peters
(Member until 2012)
Institute of German Language and Literature, University of Cologne
Former Vice President of the German Academic Sponsorship Program
Dr Michael Rosenthal
(Member until 2009)
Baerlocher GmbH
Prof. Godehard Ruppert
(Member until 2016)
President of the University of Bamberg
Prof. Barbara Sponholz
(Member until 2022)
Institute of Geography and Geology, University of Würzburg
Melanie Tropp
(Member until 2010)
vbw – Bavarian Industry Association
Sylke Wischnevsky
(Member until 2016)
Headmaster at Otto-von-Taube Gymnasium