Elite Network: Detail
Go back to overview

8th BGCE Student Paper Prize

The 8th BGCE Stu­dent Paper Prize for out­stand­ing stu­dent work in the field of Com­puta­tional Sci­ence and Engi­neer­ing has been awarded at the SIAM CS&E Con­fer­ence 2021, which took place on March 1-5, 2021, in an online for­mat.

The Prize

Founder of the prize is the Elite Graduate Program "Bavarian Graduate School of Computational Engineering"(BGCE). Once pos­sible again, the prize win­ner will be invit­ed to spend one week (air fare, ac­co­mo­da­tion, and local ex­pens­es cov­ered) in Ba­varia, visit­ing FAU and TUM and get­ting in con­tact with BGCE’s edu­cational and re­search pro­gram, one of the most ad­vanced ones in Eu­rope. The main objec­tive is to pro­mote excel­lent stu­dents in CS&E and to foster inter­na­tional ex­change at an early career stage. Eligi­ble for the prize are un­der­grad­uate and grad­uate stu­dents prior to re­ceiv­ing their PhD (at date of sub­mis­si­on).

The Submissions and Finalists

Out of 24 sub­mit­ted short pa­pers from well-known inter­na­tional insti­tu­tions, a BGCE com­mit­tee se­lected the fol­low­ing eight final­ists for this year who have pre­sent­ed their con­tribu­tions in the two spe­cial mini­sym­posia MS 6 and MS 96 at the SIAM CS&E con­fer­ence:

  • Shane A. McQuarrie (Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, University of Texas at Austin): Data-driven Reduced-order Models via Regularized Operator Inference
  • Nicole Aretz (Aachen Institute for Advanced Study in Computational Engineering Science (AICES), RWTH Aachen University): An Observability Criterion for Sensor Selection for Configuration-dependent Linear Bayesian Inverse Problems With Correlated Noise
  • Michael G. Kapteyn (Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology): A Probabilistic Graphical Model Foundation For Enabling Predictive Digital Twins At Scale
  • Georg Maierhofer (Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge): A general method for moment computation in Filon methods
  • Jens Hahne (Fakultät für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, Bergische Universität Wuppertal): Time-Parallel Simulation of an Induction Machine using MGRIT with Spatial Coarsening
  • Terrence Alsup (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University): Trading-off Deterministic Preconditioning and Sampling in Bayesian Inference
  • Maria Strazzullo (mathLab, Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati (SISSA), Triest): Reduced Order Models for Parametrized Optimal Control in Advanced Applications: From Nonlinearity To Time Dependency
  • Shashank Subramanian (Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences, University of Texas at Austin): A Scalable Inversion Framework for Brain Tumor Growth Models in Personalized Medicine

The Winner

The pa­pers and presenta­tions have been by as­sessed by an inter­na­tional jury con­sisting of the fol­low­ing reser­arch­ers: Hart­wig Anzt (Karlsruhe), Hans-Joachim Bun­gartz (TUM), Rolf Krause (Uni­versi­tà della Sviz­zera ital­iana, CH), Es­mond Ng (Law­rence Berkeley Na­tional La­bora­tories, USA), Anne Reinarz (Durham Uni­versi­ty, UK), Bar­bara Wohlmuth (TUM), Carol Woodward (Law­rence Liv­er­more Na­tional La­bora­tories, USA). De­spite the con­sis­tently ex­tremely high quali­ty of the presenta­tions, the vote of the jury was unan­imous: This year’s win­ner is Shashank Subramani­an of the Oden Insti­tute for Com­puta­tional Engi­neer­ing and Sci­ences at the Uni­versi­ty of Texas at Aus­tin. His work repre­sents a ma­jor leap for­ward for prob­abil­ity-based backward com­puta­tions (the so-called Bayesian Inver­sion) in the con­text of pa­tient-specific loca­tion of initial areas of brain tu­mors. We are look­ing for­ward to Shashank Subramani­ans visit in Ba­varia once the Coro­na pan­demia al­lows to real­ize it in a useful man­ner.

History of pre­vious prize win­ners:

  • 2019: Elizabeth Qian (MIT) und Zakia Zainib (SISSA)
  • 2017: Robert Gantner (ETH Zürich)
  • 2015: David Emerson (Tufts University)
  • 2013: Tobin Isaac (ICES, UT Austin)
  • 2011: Andrea Manzoni (EPF Lausanne)
  • 2009: Gisela Widmer (ETH Zürich) und Chad Lieberman (MIT)
  • 2007: Alfonso Bueno Orovio (Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)

Further informations:


Text: Tobias Neckel, Coordinator of the Elite Graduate Program "Bavarian Graduate School of Computational Engineering"