Deutsch  Language Icon  |  Gebärdensprache  |  Leichte Sprache  |  Contact


From the beginning, the Commission of the Elite Network of Bavaria has accompanied and supported our programs "Elite Graduate Programs" and "International Doctorate Programs". The constitutive meeting of the Commission took place on August 29 and 30, 2003. Furthermore, the Commission has accompanied the new program "International Junior Research Groups" since the beginning in 2013.

The main task of the International Commission is to select the most outstanding elite study programs at the Bavarian universities.

[Bildunterschrift / Subline]: (Click on the image to download PDF version)


The selection procedure has several rounds. First the applicants hand in drafts of their projects. Then the commission asks that a more detailed application be drawn up for the most promising projects. They are evaluated by expert boards which vote on the concepts and refer them back to the commission for the final decision.

The support for the Elite Graduate, International Doctorate Programs and International Junior Research Groups is based on the advice of the Commission, which bases its decision on purely scientific considerations. The Commission pays special attention to the excellence of all the people involved, to internationalisation, to the innovative character of the proposed curriculum, to imaginative teaching methods and to the best possible student mentoring. Initially, the funding for the Doctorate Programs is limited to four years, funding for the Graduate Programs to five years. Upon application it is possible to add a second funding period. The funding of the International Junior Research Groups is limited to five years. 


Funding continuation

A continuation of the funding of the Elite Graduate Programs and Internationale Doctorate Programs is only possible if strict criteria of excellence are met. The Commission takes a decision about doing so on the basis of the evaluation survey, which the Coordination Office of the Elite Network of Bavaria conducts among the students, Ph.D. students and the spokespersons of the programs each year. In addition, the Commission appoints expert committees before the first funding period is over. They evaluate the quality of the modules, the students and Ph.D. students, either on the basis of a visit to the university site or on the basis of a symposium.

The established Elite graduate Programs are funded by the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts for a maximum of two funding periods (ten years). Since 2013 universities have the possibility of continuing the established Elite Graduate Programs by taking charge of concept and facilities themselves. Quality assurance is still carried out by the Elite Network of Bavaria. The International Commission also recommends which Elite Graduate Programs should be continued on the basis of the recommendation of the installed evaluation board.

Members of the Commission


Prof. em. Dr. Peter Strohschneider
former President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
Institute of German Philology, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich

Members of the Commission

Prof. Dr. Wolf-Tilo Balke
Institute for Information Systems, Technical University Braunschweig

Prof. Dr. Thomas Bernauer
Institute for Science, Technology and Politics, ETH Zürich

Prof. Dr. Uwe Clausen
Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics, Dortmund

Prof. Dr. Michael Drmota
Institute for Discrete Mathematics and Geometry, TU Vienna

Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Kohl
Frobenius Institute for Cultural Anthropological Research, Goethe University Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Frauke Kraas
Professor and Chair of Human Geography, Department of Geography at the Unitversity of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Heike Krieger
Department of Law, Freie Universität Berlin

Prof. Dr. Thisbe K. Lindhorst
Otto Diels Institute for Organic Chemistry, Christian Albrechts University Kiel

Prof. Steffen Martus
Institute for German Literature, Humboldt University Berlin

Prof. Dr. Daniela Pfannkuche
I. Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Andrea Schenker-Wicki
Rector of the University of Basel

Prof. Dr. Ellen Zechner
Institute of Molecular Biosciences, University of Graz